absolutefor.blogg.se

Empire at war white screen
Empire at war white screen






empire at war white screen

That’s 13 times the price of the same land, plus a little extra, that changed hands in the Louisiana Purchase, 61 years before the first battle of Adobe Walls. Bernard Uechtritz, the Dallas real estate mogul selling it, calls it “the oasis of the Panhandle.” When I got him on the phone, he told me the ranch contains 26 miles of the Canadian River, “hundreds of springs,” and “a number of lakes and reservoirs.” And all of it could be mine for just $200 million. The land they settled seldom cooperated.īy contrast, Turkey Track Ranch is pastoral and serene. Their stories are pocked with heartache like a prairie with buffalo wallows: sickness, drought, death in childbirth. My people came to the Texas Panhandle in the middle of the 19th century to find fortunes or outlaws. She put it in my hand and said: “Read this. It’s a story about rugged people in a stubborn land, or vice versa. A few years ago, my mother gave me a book for Christmas, Timothy Egan’s terrific Dust Bowl remembrance called The Worst Hard Time.








Empire at war white screen